Seperation of Church and State


Ephesians 1:22-23

22 And God placed all things under [Christ’s] feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

 

Since Christ fills everything, and the church is the fullness of him, then there can be no separation of church and state. I think  the church is symbolic, in this passage, of all Christians, not a certain denomination. So Christians, according to the Bible, should not have to separate their views from their job, schooling, or politics. This is because they, in Christ, fill everything in every way. Therefore, in contrast, their views should soak their job, schooling and politics.

This entry was posted in Politics, Seperation of Church and State and tagged , by Hudson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

2 thoughts on “Seperation of Church and State

  1. You’ve misunderstood what separation of church and state means. It’s a concept in law that evolved over time and many legal cases to protect minority members of the state, who in this case are NOT Christians, from having to conform to the tenets of Christianity in order to receive equal treatment under the law.

    • No, no that is not what it was initially plotted out for. Separation of church and state was by no means ever supposed to come into our government. Our country initially didn’t have separation of church and state. Thomas Jefferson said there was “separation of church and state” to a group of minority Baptists who were afraid that the state would tell them which religion they had to follow. Thus initially separation of church and state was enforced to protect individuals from the state, not the church. Now you said that the minority is non-Christians and that separation of C&S was to protect them from the church. That is how our country views it now. But what our country doesn’t see is that Christians are the minority and are having to conform to the tenets of the government. Christians are being abused by this ill concept of separation of church and state. Separation of Church and State is unconstitutional. I haven’t misunderstood it, those who hate Christians have misused it.

Leave a Comment

