Separation of Church and State…. History Through the Eyes of Faith


“In a formulation associated with Lutheranism [and other right wing Protestant churches], the intentions of God are said to be a sword that has two edges, the church and the state. They work together when wielded by God’s authority, i.e., those who are in authority are God’s chosen ones to rule. On the left wing, the Free Churches try to be precisely that-free from the state. They say that the nation-state and the community of believers are never the same and that their foundations are entirely different. This view is most notable in those of the Free Church expression known as “the peace churches.” They are pacific, but their pacifism should be seen not merely as an opposition to war alone but to any and all actions of the state binding on the community of belief. They would see the Lutheran “two-edged sword” as indistinguishable from Catholic medievalism, and they oppose the notion of a sacral society (“Christendom”) in all its parts. Or the centrist Protestants, things are not quite so clear. Reformed and Presbyterian churches tend not to see the church and state bound as closely as the Lutherans and Anglicans, but they do see the proper role of secular authority as supportive of sacred purpose. While believing in the institutional separation of church and state, they nevertheless seek to promote the impact of religion on society.” – History Through the Eyes of Faith

This entry was posted in Politics, Seperation of Church and State and tagged , , , by Hudson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

Leave a Comment

