Dating and Relationships


Dating. God has created us to enjoy spending time with someone we like and love (and I will possibly post on differentiating between the two). Dating is a good thing, assuming that you are gong about the relationship in a godly biblical way. There is nothing wrong or sinful about dating (1 Corinthians 7:28). Why am I bringing it up if there is nothing wrong with it? Short answer: dating is not always necessary. Not just dating, any relationship could be unnecessary.

Let me back up a little. About a year ago I began investigating dating, specifically dating in highschool. Eventually, I came to the conclusion that for most (and I believe that “most” means a strong percentage of teenagers) dating in highschool is unwise. Not just unnecessary, but unwise. I eventually gave a speech about it to my peers. Further, I decided that I would not date in highschool. Well, right around the time I gave my speech I began to become attracted to someone. I guess God was really testing me ( The do you walk your talk? test). He has not only been testing me, He has been teaching me. The past 6-8 months I have struggled with my feelings, asking questions: Is it necessary in my life and how far do you want me to stay away? All that too say (for my first point) a relationship may not be necessary (Hebrews 12:1- “Let us throw off everything that hinders”). There is nothing wrong with a relationship, but it is not always God’s timing. To prove my point, let’s dig a little deeper.

Let’s pretend I had dated her. I would have had a great relationship and it would  have most likely been an enjoyable time. However, it would have been unnecessary. If I had dated her, I probably wouldn’t have had the time to start a Bible study that impacted one of my friends greatly. Further, I still would have had a good relationship with the Lord, but some of my attention would have been divided (1Corithians 7:34). My conclusion: it is necessary to think prayerfully as to whether it is God’s timing. The relationship may be unnecessary in the moment.

Second point: if that person is “the one”, God in His sovereignty will bring you together*! I will use myself as an example again. I have just moved a couple hours away; because of this I have struggled with whether or not I should keep in touch with her. When visiting a church the pastor said, “You can’t live by faith if you are serving your feelings.” Case in point: God will bring you to the person He wants you to marry, if you are searching His will. When you are serving your feelings it can be easy to “force” a relationship. That being said, if the girl I like is God’s plan for me, He will bring us together in His own timing.

This year, by trial and fail (and hopefully success) I have learned that many things which are good may be unnecessary in the present; and that God’s wisdom and timing are greater than mine (1 John 5:9).

*- The topic of whether or not there is one person God has chosen for you is a debated subject. I think that if you have faith that God will bring you to the person He wants, He will do it. Sometimes it is easy to think God always works the same way twice, and so we try to predict Him. I don’t think that He has a written code on this subject. I think He is looking for a humbled heart.

This entry was posted in Life, Love and tagged , , by Hudson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

Leave a Comment

