Bill Nye Debates Ken Ham


Last night in classy performance, Bill Nye debated Ken Ham over the viability of the creation account. Both relied heavily upon their assumptions of the past in the debate, however Ken Ham admitted to this fact many times. Bill Nye provided some very good arguments against the creation account [most however, can be explained]; some arguments however, were ridiculous and beneath him. Ken Ham presented many arguments that could be problematic for the scientific community who accept evolution; however, many of these arguments will never be accepted by a scientist who assumes a human is no more than an animal.

I encourage you to watch the entire debate, however, you may not be willing to watch a 2 1/2 hr debate. If not, watch the first hour for a synopsis of the Christian view of interpreting science and the Secular Humanist view of interpreting science. The last hour and a half is true debate in which each debater is able to counter the other’s arguments.

This entry was posted in Why do you believe? and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Hudson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

2 thoughts on “Bill Nye Debates Ken Ham

    • I appreciate your comment and for reading my blog. May I mention that this was more of a debate between the Secular Humanist worldview and the Christian worldview than a debate between origin of life scientists. Although neither scientist (yes, scientist) specializes in the origins of life, they represent the certain viewpoint and are both ‘celebrities’ in the scientific world. Bill represents the public school teachers who are Humanists and teach evolution and Ham represents the school teachers who teach creationism and hold to a Christian worldview. Its like having Barack Obama and Mitt Romney debating. Neither are the true ‘scientist’ but represent their party’s positions. And I might add, neither are qualified; if we really want to know what each party believes about military, then we should ask a Democrat general and a Republican general.
      I do agree that most Christians do not accept his Young Earth model. However, his model has been the model for ages. Unfortunately, many Christians believe God used evolution to create the species (or kinds). However, I do not think Ham added to the Bible, in fact, I think he interpreted the Bible. He did the same that you did with your study (as described in your blog).
      Further, in your blog you mentioned that the earth could have been thousands or millions or billions or whatever many years old as a shapeless mass. I agree, it could have been. However, that proves nothing against Ham’s argument. Because what Ham was referring to was the start of the creating of the earth as we know it today: spherical, populated, trees, plants, water, etc. In fact, maybe your description is accurate and explains why some asteroids are ‘billions’ of years old and why the creatures living on the earth only are a couple thousand years old.
      In other words, you split up (via interpretation) the Creation event into two sections: before it was organized, and after it was organized. The creating of the animals was part of the organizing. Thus it still points to a young earth. The earth may be billions of years old before that, but that was just a shapeless mass.
      To Be Clear To My Readers: A Biblical Christian Worldview Does NOT Allow For Evolution to be in the picture. The Earth can be Millions or Billions of Years old but species can not have occurred by macro-evolution.

Leave a Comment

