Dilemma for Creationists in First Law of Thermodynamics


Dilemma for Creationists in First Law of Thermodynamics? I don’t think so. Matter cannot be created or destroyed. It can only change forms.

This would seem like a problem because at some point God must have created matter. However, I like to think about it like this: think of God as an owner of a fish tank. Now imagine that we are fishes. We cannot add to or subtract from the water in the fish tank, we can just help it change forms. However, the owner can because he is outside the tank! He can add more water to the tank or take some out. So it is with God. He is in the spiritual realm, and so, he has the key to our ‘fish tank’. He has the power to add matter or subtract matter from our universe. This is because He is outside our universe physical universe… he is not limited to space or time.

19 By wisdom the Lord laid the earth’s foundations,
    by understanding he set the heavens in place;
20 by his knowledge the watery depths were divided,
    and the clouds let drop the dew.” – Proverbs 3:19-20

This entry was posted in Education, Science and tagged , , , , , , by Hudson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hudson

I live in Indiana. I enjoyed playing soccer all four years of high school. I co-captained and won the MVP award my senior year. I also have created many film projects, the most extensive of which won a film festival award for Best Cinematography during my senior year. It is a 10-minute short film called Café Encounter and can be watched on YouTube. I have been actively involved in my youth group and am a leader for a middle school boys group on Sunday mornings. I was also blessed to go on two mission trips to Belize and Ecuador respectively. Belize really awakened my faith in Christ and pushed me towards active obedience and love for God. Ecuador gave me a life-changing perspective on missionary work and has helped me to view myself as a missionary in my every day life, but especially with the intent of being a missionary to my work industry.

Leave a Comment

